CAPITAL REGION CLUTCH: Coonradt, Stone win DIRTcar Pro Stock Heat Races at Oswego

Kim Duell and Chuck Dumblewski will start on the front row of the DIRTcar Pro Stock 50

A strong field of 30 DIRTcar Pro Stocks from the United States and Canada made the trip to Oswego Speedway for NAPA Super DIRT Week 50. However, one area of New York showed its dominance in Qualifying—the Capital Region.

Josh Coonradt and Nick Stone each scored $500 Heat Race Victories, gaining valuable knowledge for Saturday’s DIRTcar Pro Stock 50.

Kim Duell and Chuck Dumblewski will lead the field to the green of the 50-lap Feature, after earning the top two spots in Thursday’s Qualifying sessions.


Josh Coonradt picked up where he left off after winning Tuesday’s Super DIRT Week Kickoff Party victory at Weedsport, using the outside lane to score the win in Heat Race 1.

Rich Crane gained the lead on Lap 1 of the 10-lap affair, but a caution for Brian Carter on Lap 3 put Coonradt next to the Connecticut driver.

On the restart, Coonradt and Crane battled side-by-side for two laps before Coonradt’s momentum inched him ahead of Crane for the lead.

From there, Coonradt held on to score the $500 prize and built more momentum entering Saturday.

The Fort Johnson, NY driver, said the changes he made between Time Trials and the Heat Races paid off.

“We went back and made some changes,” Coonradt said. “We really didn’t have anything to lose. Everyone is making the show this weekend, and we did some things and got some pointers from Nick (Stone).

“Our car is pretty good, and there’s a lot of bite out there.”

Crane held on for second, while Luke Horning, Jason Casey, and Pete Stefanski rounded out the top five.


Nick Stone used the same line as Coonradt to power around Chuck Dumblewski and won the second 10-lap DIRTcar Pro Stock Heat Race on Friday.

Stone needed only two laps to reach the front, inching ahead of Dumblewski at the start-finish line.

The Rotterdam, NY driver dominated the final eight laps and took the checkered flag worth $500.

He said he decided what line to run after watching Coonradt’s move in the first Heat Race.

“Watching the first Heat (Race) is a huge advantage,” Stone said. “I saw Josh (Coonradt) up top there, and I said, well, we’re starting outside. Chucky chose the bottom, and it was kind of a good opportunity where we started.

“I’m still a lot tighter than I want to be. I have to fix my race car.”

Dumblewski finished second, while Jay Casey, Kenny Wallace, and Bruno Richard rounded out the top five.


Earlier in the day, the 30-car field battled to see who would start in the first three rows of Saturday’s DIRTcar Pro Stock 50.

Another Capital Region driver, Kim Duell, was the fastest overall in Qualifying earning the SRI Performance Pole Award.

From Porters Corners, NY, Duell said starting on the pole is part of the Super DIRT Week dream.

“It’s part of the dream to put it on the pole,” Duell said. “We’ve been in the top five before, but the pole is pretty special.

“The car is really handling well. We’ve done nothing but work on it since we got here trying to adjust it to the track and the gearing and everything, and I finally think we’ve hit on it.”

Dumblewski will line up next to Duell on Sunday, as he grabbed the Finishing Touch Construction Outside Pole Award.

The Amsterdam, NY driver stated he’s happy with his run because he knows the importance of starting up front at Oswego.

“You want to be in the front here,” Dumblewski said. “It’s hard to pass here, so if you start in the front, it’s a huge advantage.

“In 2018, we lost it from the pole, so maybe we can win it from the outside pole this year.”

Luke Horning, Stone, Crane, and Jay Casey also punched their ticket into Saturday’s race, making up rows two and three.

UP NEXT: The DIRTcar Pro Stocks return to “The Clay Palace” on Saturday Oct. 8 for the DIRTcar Pro Stock 50.

If you can’t make it to the track, you can watch all the action live on DIRTVision – either online or through the DIRTVision App.

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 00X-Josh Coonradt[5]; 2. 69-Rich Crane[3]; 3. 2H-Luke Horning[2]; 4. 324-Jason Casey[4]; 5. 2-Pete Stefanski[10]; 6. 17-Nick Hilt[8]; 7. X15-Tyler Bushey[9]; 8. 7-Rob Yetman[6]; 9. 56-Jay Fitzgerald[15]; 10. 14J-Johnny Rivers[12]; 11. 4-Dean Charbonneau[11]; 12. 55-David Stickles[13]; 13. 00C-Michael Clark[14]; 14. 6C-Brian Carter[7]; 15. 14-Kim Duell[1]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 8N-Nick Stone[2]; 2. 7D-Chucky Dumblewski[1]; 3. 322-Jay Casey[3]; 4. 36-Kenny Wallace[5]; 5. 72-Bruno Richard[7]; 6. 6-Shane Playford[9]; 7. 25-Chad Jeseo[4]; 8. 7C-Caden Dumblewski[10]; 9. 1X-Justin White[6]; 10. 75-Eli Gilbert[8]; 11. 09J-Shawn Perez[11]; 12. 9S-Ken Schrader[15]; 13. 30-Zach Daniels[12]; 14. 57-Charles Mcspirit[13]; 15. 76-Frank Hoard[14]

Qualifying (2 Laps): 1. 14-Kim Duell, 00:25.320[12]; 2. 7D-Chucky Dumblewski, 00:25.338[22]; 3. 2H-Luke Horning, 00:25.340[19]; 4. 8N-Nick Stone, 00:25.379[30]; 5. 69-Rich Crane, 00:25.453[3]; 6. 322-Jay Casey, 00:25.458[27]; 7. 324-Jason Casey, 00:25.466[14]; 8. 25-Chad Jeseo, 00:25.495[5]; 9. 00X-Josh Coonradt, 00:25.556[10]; 10. 36-Kenny Wallace, 00:25.563[2]; 11. 7-Rob Yetman, 00:25.882[8]; 12. 1X-Justin White, 00:25.890[9]; 13. 6C-Brian Carter, 00:25.954[13]; 14. 72-Bruno Richard, 00:26.056[25]; 15. 17-Nick Hilt, 00:26.104[7]; 16. 75-Eli Gilbert, 00:26.137[23]; 17. X15-Tyler Bushey, 00:26.160[24]; 18. 6-Shane Playford, 00:26.170[26]; 19. 2-Pete Stefanski, 00:26.171[1]; 20. 7C-Caden Dumblewski, 00:26.196[16]; 21. 4-Dean Charbonneau, 00:26.310[17]; 22. 09J-Shawn Perez, 00:26.330[18]; 23. 14J-Johnny Rivers, 00:26.536[6]; 24. 30-Zach Daniels, 00:26.669[11]; 25. 55-David Stickles, 00:26.741[20]; 26. 57-Charles Mcspirit, 00:26.918[21]; 27. 00C-Michael Clark, 00:26.922[28]; 28. 76-Frank Hoard, 00:26.936[29]; 29. 56-Jay Fitzgerald, 00:27.086[15]; 30. 9S-Ken Schrader, 00:27.086[4]